Waiting For Sunset

January 27, 2009

An Otaku? Get real.

Filed under: Uncategorized — katacomb @ 12:06 am

Hello!

I would like to write about manga briefly! I am embarassed to admit that I am quite a huge fan of anime.  It is an embarassing subject, because the associations are embarassing! Consider the known image of the overweight girl, black hair with bangs and glasses, wearing a hat equiped with cat ears, ‘inuyasha’ poster posted faithfully on wall, gushing over anything with big eyes, reading fan-fiction and squealing, “kawaiiii!’: An otaku stereo-type… Disturbingly real. These people have no social knowledge or tact, so I refuse to be associated with such a thing! I don’t understand why the admiration of manga makes people give up basic human etiquette or understanding… How do these people come about?

motivate_otakuAm I an Otaku? Wikipedia says, “Otaku (おたく/オタク?) is a Japanese term used to refer to people with obsessive interests, particularly anime, manga, and video games.”

I know I don’t have an obsession. I will not think something is good, simply because it is done in japanese animation. When I read manga, I am attracted to the beauty, and my guilty pleasure is the abstract melodrama. Usually, the best manga are those with a simple story, but exploring different philosophies. I rarely have the patience to read through a story of senseless trivia, or extreme cyber life. I like the stories that explore character/human nature, and beauty.

I am currently reading different mangas online… It can be very calming, and doing so is a great escape. Hardly any thought it required to read manga, and it is exceedingly easy to lose yourself in the characters and their over-dramatic, unrealistic life.  Have you ever identified with any character in a manga? Chances are, it is because the character represents not real human behaviour, but human motive. I have found that more than anything else, mangas explore human longing–and everyone can relate to striving, dreaming.

So don’t feel bad about indulging in a manga every now and then.  Let your childish longings take over and fall into a new story, a new world.  Just don’t forget about the beautiful one you already inhabit, so much more complex and enticing than the one you are escaping to. Be the hero of your own fantasy!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

