Waiting For Sunset

November 1, 2008

A Silent Hallow’s Eve

Filed under: Uncategorized — katacomb @ 6:37 pm

Please excuse me, I do not have very much time to write. But I figure that 1 update a week (atleast) should suffice. Actually, doing it this way may be a good thing, for I do not want to give up on my longhand diary writing. Something about opening a journal is so exquisite.

Pearls, the elder cat, is sleeping on my bed beside me at the moment. I love petting her- I have not seen her in a while.

Things have been busy, busy around here… In my quest to live the ideal lifestyle, it is a very hard challenge to juggle emotions with responsibilities. In my chaotic home, harsh words and actions are exchanged almost daily. But I notice… The longer I remain docile, the more my position is an advantageous one. For instance, if my dad should say or do terrible things to me, and I act completely civil the next day, he becomes a mumbling… well, baffoon, I suppose. At the same time… It’s difficult. The sorrow. I have learned how to cry silently, unseen.

My day schedule has changed along with my sleep patterns! As soon as I wake up, I commence miniature chores. I make my bed, tidy my room… Then I prepare myself for the day’s task by throwing on loose clothing and tying my hair up (usually braided). I do the dishes, clean the kitchen, feed the animals, clean the bathroom and anything else that needs special attention. Then I eat something healthy… With tea. My breakfast is usually so healthy, but then I tend to ruin it throughout the day. The day then runs fairly smoothly… Despite…Everything.

Yesterday and today is Samhain, a celebratory day to mark the end of the Celtic year and harvest. Today is a new beginning, and I hope knowlegde of that fact with work as a greater incentive for my goals and strengthen me further. I still have yet to do a tiny ritual for the occasion. Hopefully I can find the time.

I had alot of fun dressing up my little brother for Halloween! He is much too old to go trick-or-treating, but many people still dress up. (Did you know that nobody says “trick-or-treat” anymore? They stand at the doorway expectantly, holding out their bags and leave without a word.) There were only 2 small groups of children at our door this year, which is VERY unusual. It must be because of all the new houses not too far away. My father decided to shut the light outside, when a couple of teenagers showed up. He does not agree with giving candy to those that are old enough to work for it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

